OVCAC Advisory Council

The Children's Autism Center Advisory Council was created during the inception of the Opportunity Village Children's Autism Center in Clear Lake, Iowa, and continues to meet twice annually to help guide and shape the vision of the CAC. The role of this group of volunteers is to advise CAC staff on activities, services, and to help determine whether it meets the needs of the community. 

Members of the Advisory Council are:

  • Pat Tomson, Executive Director, First Citizens National Bank Charitable Foundation, and community advocate.

  • Karn Johansen, nurse practitioner and mother of a son with autism.

  • Dea Ellen Birtwistle, licensed independent social worker.

  • Dr. Norma McGuire, pediatrician.

  • Amy Wilhelm, mother of a son and daughter with autism and Lake Mills school paraprofessional for children with autism.

  • Mel Harms, chairperson of the Music Therapy Department at Wartburg College and licensed music therapist.

  • Jere Bartolo, speech and language pathologist at Mercy Medical Center.

  • Sarah Smith, Cerro Gordo Medical Alliance Society.

  • Mark Feustal, retired AEA Assistant Director of Special Education.

The Children's Autism Center was created in August 2013 by Opportunity Village to provide resources, education, and support for families of children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorders. For more information about OVCAC, contact Dr. Jesse Logue or Dr. Lauryn Toby at 641-355-1216.